Diversity in terms of geography, culture and language are the features of the European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino. It embodies three mountain states that are one of their kind but have a lot in common. Three territories that are united by a common history. Three territories with great potential for further development.


In 2011 the European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino was founded, based on the Regulation No. 1082 of the European Parliament, as the first EGTC in Austria, the second one in Italy and the 21st in the European Union. Features of the EGTC are its own legal personality and its Common Office at Bolzano-Bozen. The purpose of the EGTC is to foster and facilitate trans-border, trans-national and interregional cooperation between the Tyrol, South Tyrol-Alto Adige and Trentino.

The European Region unites 1.7 million residents from the two Autonomous Provinces of Bozen-Bolzano and Trentino with the Austrian state of Tyrol, on a total area of 26,255 square kilometres. It acts as a platform of exchange between the different cultures and mentalities of these three states. The idea of a unified Europe has already prevailed within the European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino. The chances of cultural, political and economical integration are taken. By the means of trans-national cooperation the whole territory is upgraded and strengthened and thus prepared for the requirements of economic growth and ongoing globalization. The EGTC's realm covers all important areas of life of its citizens, ranging from communication, culture, education, youth affairs to science and research, tourism, transport policy, health care, environmental affairs and energy policy.

Share:  Facebook google+ twitter